Sticks Fire Bistro @ Queesbay Mall, Penang

Posted by Taufulou | Labels: , , , , | Posted On Tuesday, December 29, 2009 at 7:58 PM

Penang being a wonderful place for food hunting especially on hawker and street food but Sticks Fire Bistro is one of the latest edition into Penang food paradise. Being in town for so many days I grab the opportunity to visit this place with my best friend as we were out of idea what to eat around Queensbay.

When we reach there, my friend got totally excited over the newly build up place and I was quite impress with it too. A stand alone Bistro.

A very catchy and nice environment they have.

Filled with a bar that serves cocktail, mock tail, beers and liquor.

The restaurant remains open concept which is quite a nice choice that I have seen one in Klang area. This place surely have the kick for it.

If you feel that outdoor is hot for you, then they do have indoor too. Cozy mosaic floor with nicely lit lights in it.

I have always like to sit some where higher like a mini bar bench area. This would be a great place to be.

The restaurant also practise open concept kitchen.

For the very first time, we were quite surprise to see what they have to offer in the menu, not many choices but felt that the price is right with the environment they build up and comes the friendly waitress that start to take up our order and ask what is nice in the menu, and recommended all those in chili sign is the chef recommended which I also can see that.

Then this name caught my attention to order it 'Tamarind with Longan-Iced' RM3.90 and honestly I do not know how to enjoy this drink, sour with longan sweet that I felt do not go along very well yet with a few pieces of ice cubes is not chill enough, requested extra ice cubes to make it more chilled.

My best friend ordered 'Spicy Waikiki Sardine' and with the spiciness level is there yet there is nothing much to boost about yet this is a chef recommendation. We felt its way very plain just like spaghetti and added on can sardine with own spice.. RM13.80

Then the food start to turn's ugly with this serving of 'Traditional Meat & Mash Potato' that this mash potato was serve to us cold. I was a little bit shock at first and thought it was suppose to be like that and after eat the base also cold I ask the waiter to help me ask on it. They took it away and help me reheat on it. After came back the base in it is a lil warm yet can still taste some coldness in certain part and I did not mind. As I ate half of the pie and I am getting more frustrated as I did not eat any meat pieces or chunks in the pie with its written meat in it and ask my friend to help me try out and also agree that its more like vegetable pie instead of meat pie. FINE!

When my portion was served, I really got a surprise that 'Tender Lamb Cubes with Pine' is totally out of my expectation, what the hell, its still cubes but on sticks more like satay Kebab with such a small portion and plain yet the best part is my LAMB CUBES IS COLD. Again another dish is served cold. Requested the waiter to help me change and they change a brand new stick for me.

Guess what, my second stick of lamb is full of veins and its hard to bite or chew. I never careless about it any more with such food quality yet with the dipping sauce added on it taste not bad but RM19.80 I would say its very expensive for the portion and quality.






While I am walking around to take pictures, this guy request me to take picture for him. They are seriously nice guys as I get to know the first guy in light blue shirt is the manager for TGI Fridays in Queensbay mall which was introduce to me moments ago.

Till while we were waiting for our bill and one of the floor lady manager came to us and ask us how is the food and services. As I told her, the service is good and the food is way below average for the price we are paying and complain bout the lamb too. Guess what is her response.... and what she said I would say she is killing the business:

" I know that our Lamb got veins and the quality is not there, when we went for the food review on the supplier, the lamb was the best even better than the Beef that is why we choose the lamb but when the supplier send us the stock, it was not as what we have tried. You know ah, if a supplier send this kind of quality to us ah..how are we going to use back them, not sincere at all and on my hand I got handful list of supplier, not this supplier I can find another better supplier."

When I heard this, what am I suppose to say yet came to a conclusion that, you did the same thing, pushing all those bad lamb with veins for us to eat and isint that this is the way you killing your business? What a good explanation you have yet no discount was given, or replacement and just agree with my statement and added yours. Its truly disappointing for food experience that I have to go grab a ramlee burger to eat after that as the portion was small and I still felt hungry after that. I guess I was one of the unlucky customer that had a bad experience on their food serving but service was good.

I just would want to say that, if you would want to try out the food, just give them 1 more month to get organise their kitchen and food quality. Since the day I am visiting was last weekend which is their only first few days of operating but I cannot deny more that, the restaurant is sure a great place to drink in Penang. Hopefully they will improve during my next visit which I think they derserve a second chance.


-= Ka Ching =-

Food Rating 3/10, DAMM BAD for the day!!!!~-Stamped-

--Warning-- This is based on my individual taste. Try it at your own risk-

Location:
Sticks Fire Bistro
FD-150, Queensbay Mall
100, Persiaran Bayan Indah,
11900 Bayan Lepas, Penang
(Located directly outside of Coffee Bean)

Comments:

There are 9 Taufu Eaters for Sticks Fire Bistro @ Queesbay Mall, Penang